Welcome to “Chickpeas & Change”!

Hello, dear readers, and welcome to the new iteration of my blog: Chickpeas & Change!

A new name AND a hand-drawn logo!

A new name AND a hand-drawn logo!

About a month ago, I expressed my desire to re-frame the blog – formerly known as “Farmers Market Vegan” – with a new name and manifesto that de-centered vegan consumption practices and focused on radical politics grounded in anti-speciesist, anti-racist, and feminist principles. With your help, I decided to celebrate the blog’s new direction under Chickpeas & Change, where I hope to play a small part in feeding a revolution toward collective liberation for all beings.

Read on for a more in-depth account of my reasoning behind shifting the blog’s intentions (which can also be found on my updated “About” page).

For five years starting in my junior year of high school, my identity revolved around veganism and working toward the liberation of other animals. And for good reason: not only did the violence of species-based oppression provide me with my first “social justice awakening,” so to speak, but the intention behind a vegan diet quite literally saved my life from a ravaging eating disorder.

With veganism and animal activism most commonly framed as a consumer boycott of goods that depend upon the commodification of the bodies of other animals, I misguidedly understood the goal of my veganism as a mere dismantling of animal-based industries (agriculture, science labs, entertainment venues, etc.). However, because this goal merely replaces animal-based production with a vegan market, it operates well within the present political-economic order of capitalism, which by definition seeks to commodify anything and everything it can get its hands on – living or inanimate. By perpetuating the myth of “consumer power,” my animal activism was playing right into the speciesist idea that “human beings are superior to all of the other beings on earth, and that this superiority grants us a natural right to make use of the other beings however we like.” Sure, I practiced vegan consumption habits, but I definitely wasn’t challenging the internalized superiority that I believed I as a human held over other animals (aka speciesism)(Read more about the connections between veganism & consumerism here.)

Of course, if I couldn’t recognize my own intellectual arrogance in regards to other animals, I certainly couldn’t recognize how that same arrogance rendered me complicit in the oppressive relationships between colonizers and colonized (colonialism), Westerners and “traditional” societies (imperialism), owners and consumers (capitalism), and the like.

After this wake-up call – instigated thanks to the groundbreaking work of feminist, anti-racist, and anti-speciesist activists (many of whom are listen on my Resources page) – the reasons behind my veganism experienced a profound shift. Once a consumer boycott at the forefront of my politics, my veganism morphed into one among many attempts to question the default ideologies – in this case, speciesism – under which I’ve operated since childhood, and that infringe upon my ability to coexist with others. In other words, my veganism has become an extension of my efforts to foster a truly anti-speciesist politics – a means rather than an end.

Today, I conceptualize my broader politics as a never-ending practice of radical humility grounded in seeking an always imperfect understanding of interlocking oppressions, and guided most by feminist and anti-racist principles.

Striving to challenge these interlocking oppressions in the movement with which I’m most familiar (aka, animal liberation), an integral aspect of my intersectional activism involves confronting the problematic aspects of the current vegan movement, including its racism, sexism, ableism, and focus on capitalist, consumer-based strategies.

Because these oppressions would exist even if I did not eat a vegan diet, and my giving up vegan consumption habits would prevent me from truly challenging my own internalized speciesism, combating such exploitative facets of today’s vegan movement does not involve dismissing vegan consumer habits altogether. However, in order to de-center vegan consumption practices in my anti-speciestist activism, I try to focus on framing species-based oppression as a social justice issue that we must necessarily eradicate on the path toward collective liberation for all beings, to support the work of marginalized anti-speciesist activists, and to de-colonize my mind from all dominant ideologies of violence.

Of course, throughout this exhausting yet fulfilling work, I gotta eat. That’s where the chickpeas come in. So join me in building up the feminist, anti-racist, anti-speciesist community, fueled by plenty of sandwiches, smoothies, and ice cream.

In solidarity, Ali.

8 thoughts on “Welcome to “Chickpeas & Change”!

  1. Rachel in Veganland says:

    I’m so excited for this new step in your blogging adventure! I just love the new direction you’re going in and can’t wait to see where it takes you. I’m excited to continue reading your activist voice framed in an even more overtly political setting.

  2. Ellie says:

    I love the new name and the look of the blog! You have certainly expanded my awareness. I can’t wait to see what is in store for 2015!

Leave a Reply

