Vega Review & GIVEAWAY!

Sorry, this giveaway has closed.

In the past decade, the vegan community has borne more top-level athletes than the world ever expected of we sickly, malnourished, and deprived plant-eaters. From bodybuilders to fighters to endurance athletes to runners, competitive athletes fueled by animal-free diets have demonstrated not just the viability, but the power of plants(Of course, many non-Western, largely plant-based cultures have demonstrated this for years, but for the most part we haven’t been willing to look).

Photo via BrendanBrazier.com.

Photo via BrendanBrazier.com.

I first encountered the world of vegan athleticism after picking up a copy of Thrive Foods: 200 Plant-Based Recipes for Peak Health by Brendan Brazier, Canadian vegan ultramarathoner and creator of the award-winning line of whole-food nutritional products known as Vega. After developing an increasing concern for how individual food choices affect the lives of human workers, non-human animals, and the planet, Brendan became determined to create a conscious diet that would also enable top performance in his endeavors as a professional Ironman triathlete. With a focus on nutrient density, alkaline-forming foods, and nutrient-to-resource ratio, Brendan succeeded in developing just the diet that would maximize his athletic performance and minimize his environmental impact: one based on whole plant foods.

Photo via MyVega.com.

Photo via MyVega.com.

Three years after the publication of Thrive Foods, Brendan’s line of Vega products has aided countless nutritionally and athletically minded folks in their health- and performance-related endeavors, receiving numerous accolades along the way. Brendan launched Vega with his plant-powered protein powder – based in pea protein, seeds, brown rice protein, chlorella, and maca – now known as Vega One and available in french vanilla, chocolate, berry, vanilla chai, and natural flavors. Since that first protein powder, Vega has expanded its meticulously formulated line to include meal and snack bars, sacha inchi seeds, chlorella, maca, and an antioxidant oil blend – all completely vegan, nourishing, and selected for peak athletic performance and environmental sustainability.

Photo via MyVega.com.

Photo via MyVega.com.

The Vega team generously provided me with three products from their line: the Vega One Nutritional Shake in French Vanilla flavor, the Antioxidant Omega Oil Blend, and the Maca Chocolate bars (recommended by the Food Empowerment Project’s Chocolate List!).

Imparting a warm sweetness and full-bodied mouthfeel to my morning smoothies, the Vega One Nutritional Shake contributed to a fantastic pre-workout meal without the chalkiness from which many other protein powders suffer. With 15 grams of protein, 6 grams of fiber, three servings of leafy green vegetables, and tons of antioxidants, omega-3’s, and probiotics, Vega One can provide a comprehensive answer for the oft-asked question, “Where do vegans get their nutrition?”

vega (5)

vega (8)

The Antioxidant Omega Oil Blend starred in the latest rendition of my famous Liquid Gold Salad Dressing (which in turn stars in my Everyday Salad!), lending it a vibrant green hue thanks to the blend’s inclusion of hemp seed oil. Also featuring flax seed oil, pumpkin seed oil, coconut seed oil, green tea seed oil, pomegranate seed oil, black cumin seed oil, black raspberry seed oil, blueberry seed oil, and cranberry seed oil, the blend boasts a balanced two-to-one ratio of omega-6 to omega-3 fatty acids, in accordance with widely accepted nutritional recommendations.

vega (3)

For dessert, I sampled Vega’s 70% dark chocolate bars, infused with the unique malty flavor of maca – a Peruvian root touted for its ability to improve energy, stamina, fertility, and libido. While I cannot definitively say if I experienced an increase in any of these characteristics, I can say that I wholeheartedly enjoyed the silky smooth texture and complex flavor of the bars (slavery-free!).

vega (1)

vega (2)

While expensive and not-widely-available “superfoods” like maca, chlorella, and sacha inchi seeds do not play necessary roles in a diet for quality athletic performance – indeed, insisting they did would prove quite elitist – at the heart of Brendan and Vega’s work lies a passion for the health and environmental benefits of fruits, vegetables, legumes, whole grains, nuts, and seeds: foods available to many more people (though still not enough). Showcasing this passion, the Vega team offers a bounty of free, nourishing, performance-minded, vegan recipes and meal plans on their website.

In my increasingly privileged position as an established blogger, these foods have become very available to me thanks to vegan companies attuned to the benefits of collaborating with prominent online presences. As such, the availability of products has increased for blog readers, as well, showcased by the constant flurry of giveaways on the blogosphere.

And you, dear readers, have the opportunity to experience Vega’s products: one of you will win a prize pack of surprise goods from the Vega line. Simply click on the links at the top or bottom of this post to enter the giveaway for your chance to win! And of course, don’t forget to connect with Vega on Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, Pinterest, YouTube, and Instagram.

This giveaway will end at 11:59 pm on Sunday, September 28, and I will announce the winner on the following day.

Sorry, this giveaway has closed.

I was not paid to run this giveaway, though I was provided with free product samples. All opinions are completely my own.

In solidarity, Ali.

22 thoughts on “Vega Review & GIVEAWAY!

  1. Jess says:

    I don’t know if the giveaway is open to UK readers, but either way I just wanted to comment about Vega, and applaud some of your insights relating to blogging, freebies and expensive products.

    Firstly, I love Vega. Absolutely love their products. I’ve tried everything from Vega One to the bars to the chocolate, and nothing else even comes close. However, I just can’t afford to keep up the Vega habit. I think their prices are out of most people’s range, and it’s come to the point for me, because I’m not very well-off, that I have to choose between a tub of Vega and new running shoes, and obviously the latter are far more important. Since I haven’t been able to afford Vega, I have noticed a decline in my running performance and I have suffered a catastrophic injury that means I’ll never be able to run in the same way that I used to again. This could be co-incidental of course, but I do find Vega’s prices highly elitist. They might be a bit more reasonable in the US I suppose…and I know your reference to elitism was slightly different to what I’m inferring, but running is not a cheap sport at all, despite common assertions to the contrary.

    I’d really like to thank you for acknowledging the privileged position that bloggers, particularly those with ambassadorships, are in. I think most bloggers are *highly* privileged and never bother to realise it. So long as they keep getting things for free, they are quite content to live in their bubble of entitlement and tantalize their readers with things that most of us with small blogs or non-bloggers can’t afford. It’s easy to enthuse about something when you don’t have to pay extortionate prices for it.

    Anyway, thanks for the review and I always enjoy reading your thought-provoking posts. I always thought you were a lot older than you are because you write so maturely, and thus I was very surprised when you mentioned your age recently!

    • Ali Seiter says:

      Thank you so much for this comment, Jess. I really empathize with your sentiments, and appreciate you bringing them to the fore. The privilege that I’ve found comes along with blogging is still something I’m grappling with, especially whenever I run a giveaway and receive free products. I hope to write about it more in the future. Thank you again.

  2. Ellie says:

    I love Brendan Brazier and his whole philosophy! I have listened to every podcast or interview done with him and completely believe in his products. I have tried the vega protein bars but cannot make it a regular purchase because they are a bit expensive. I would be so happy to win this giveaway!

  3. Jordan says:

    The vanilla chai protein powder sounds yummy! Thanks for the giveaway, I love the few Vega products I’ve tried and I would like to try more 🙂

  4. gabsodon says:

    I have never tried maca so I am really curious about what it tastes like! After that just the protein powder to add to my carby things 🙂

Leave a Reply

