Three Little Birds Vegan Ice Cream Review & GIVEAWAY!

Sorry, this giveaway has closed.

I’m fairly confident in estimating that about 62% of my diet this summer consisted of vegan ice cream (no complaints here). Over the past few months, I’ve come to consider myself somewhat of a vegan ice cream connoisseur, familiarizing myself with which brands boast the silky-smoothest, richest, most full-flavored dairy-free frozen treats (check out my past reviews of Coconut Bliss and DF Mavens for two such brands). Of course, obtaining an ice cream maker of my own remains an ever-present fantasy of mine, but until then, commercially packed pints will have to satisfy my ice cream desires.

10530744_597659067020820_8633988961367168077_n

Today, I’m dancing with excitement in introducing you all to my new favorite among these commercial vegan ice cream purveyors: Three Little Birds. Derek and Wei, the company’s founders, launched Three Little Birds out of NYC’s East Village just back in July, and have since found great success with their 100% handmade, hand-packed, organic vegan ice cream at health food stores in Manhattan and Brooklyn, as well as at the monthly Vegan Shop Up and the weekly Hester Street Fair. Vegans themselves, Wei and Derek know quite well the vegan ice creams currently available on the market, and sought to best them all. With Derek as a co-founder of Lula’s Sweet Apothecary (aka the most magical place on earth), and therefore a veritable genius of the nuances of vegan ice cream, this goal certainly doesn’t seem too lofty.

Photo via Three Little Birds.

Photo via Three Little Birds.

I had the immense pleasure of chatting with Derek and Wei at Dunwell Doughnuts on one of the last few days of my summer stay in Brooklyn, and immediately felt drawn to their ethos and outlook on the current animal rights movement. Discovering that we shared a critical eye toward the various forms of human oppression (racism, sexism, ableism, classism) that prevail in AR today, Derek, Wei, and I conversed animatedly about our histories of activism and future plans. I’ve never felt more connected to a company whose product I’ve reviewed on my blog, and am overjoyed to offer my support.

Three Little Birds' ice cream at the Village Farm Grocery in Manhattan (photo via Three Little Birds).

Three Little Birds’ ice cream at the Village Farm Grocery in Manhattan (photo via Three Little Birds).

Not only are Derek and Wei phenomenal people, they also craft phenomenal ice cream, the likes of which I’ve honestly not encountered in vegan ice creams I’ve enjoyed in the past. Currently, Three Little Birds offers ten classically inspired flavors, seeking to perfect the basics before diving into experimentation: Death by Chocolate, Peanut Buttacups, Wafer Thin Mint, Strawberry, Cookies n’ Cream, Chocolate Fudge Swirl, Coffee Almond Fudge, Vanilla, Neapolitan, and Mint Chip (all of their chocolate flavors use products sourced from areas whose chocolate industry does not employ conditions of slavery). Excitingly, Three Little Birds just started offering ice cream sandwiches, as well!

Three Little Birds' just-launched ice cream sandwiches (photo via Three Little Birds).

Three Little Birds’ just-launched ice cream sandwiches (photo via Three Little Birds).

During our conversation at Dunwell, Derek and Wei informed me of a couple of their taste-testing requirements: they seek to eliminate the subtle cashew aftertaste present in many other cashew-based ice creams, and they strive for generous and even distribution of mix-ins within the ice cream (to this end, Derek goes so far as to hand-place every nut, cookie piece, and fudge swirl in each pint).

Derek and Wei offered me three of their flavors to review, and I more than happily obliged.

three little birds (1)

Intensely peanutty, fantastically rich, and creamier than any ice cream I’ve ever put into my mouth, the Peanut Buttacups flavor embodies the magic of peanut butter in frozen dessert form. This ice cream left me completely satisfied after only a couple of spoonfuls – a meaningful testament considering how much ice cream I can pack away at any given time. I would have loved to find more of the chocolate-coated peanut butter cups distributed throughout the ice cream, but the chocolatey fragments I did encounter offered a gorgeous crunch for textural contrast to the superbly smooth ice cream. I may need to start sleeping with this stuff underneath my pillow.

three little birds (8)

three little birds (10)

Next, the Coffee Almond Fudge boasted a ribbon of fudge sauce of impeccably sticky-smooth consistency masterfully swirled throughout the coffee-flavored ice cream. Laughing in the face of the nut crumbs I encounter in many other vegan ice cream brands, this pint’s heftily sized almond pieces are distributed in ideal proportion throughout the ice cream. Though I would have enjoyed a bolder coffee flavor, my difficulty sleeping the night after consuming this ice cream for post-dinner dessert suggests the adequacy of its coffee level.

three little birds (6)

three little birds (13)

Finally, the Neapolitan transported me right back to childhood, when enormous tubs of tri-colored ice cream packed the grocery store freezers. All three of the flavors featured in this ice cream prove spot-on: the vanilla proves delicate yet harbors character; the strawberry boasts an intense berry flavor, surprising because of the fact that Wei and Derek use no flavor-enhancing ingredients; and the chocolate offers an ideal combination of bitter-sweet that all good chocolate should strive to attain.

three little birds (7)

three little birds (15)

In my effort to spread the word about Three Little Birds far and wide, I’m thrilled to offer one of you lucky readers a selection of flavors from Derek and Wei’s burgeoning line of exquisite vegan ice cream! They’re offering one pint of Peanut Buttacups, one pint of Neapolitan, and an ice cream sandwich. Simply click on the links at the top or bottom of this post to enter the giveaway for your chance to win! And of course, don’t forget to connect with Three Little Birds on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

This giveaway will end at 11:59 pm on Sunday, September 14, and I will announce the winner on the following day. Please note that due to shipping restrictions, this giveaway is restricted to residents of New York City and its five boroughs.

Sorry, this giveaway has closed.

I was not paid to run this giveaway, though I was provided with free product samples. All opinions are completely my own.

In solidarity, Ali.

16 thoughts on “Three Little Birds Vegan Ice Cream Review & GIVEAWAY!

  1. EVA says:

    Holy crap….the Peanutbuttahcups….I was dying at the sound of it, but my lifeline went completely flat at the pictures. Then came the Coffee Almond Fudge and I died. WHILE dead.

Leave a Reply

