Kale-Cranberry Pilaf | Guest Post from Lindsay Greenfield of Vegan 101 Girl

1

Before I get into today’s extra special guest post, I’d like to make two announcements:
1.) On Episode 238 of the Our Hen House podcast, I share a review of five unrefined, versatile, vegan sweeteners to incorporate into your whole-foods eating habits. Maple syrup, coconut nectar, date sugar and more! I’m honored to be featured alongside the powerful intersectional activist Mickey Z, who just recently published his book on activism entitled Occupy this Book. Check out the episode here!
2.) I’ve selected the winner of my giveaway of 4 pints of DF Mavens vegan ice cream! Huge congratulations to Sharon Smithline; I’m certain you’ll fall madly in love with this ice cream. 

Onto the guest post! I’m ecstatic to welcome vegan blogger, health coach, and animal cruelty investigator extraordinaire Lindsay Greenfield  of Vegan 101 Girl to Farmers Market Vegan. As she’ll tell you, Lindsay and I met three summers ago in a vegetarian cooking course at a culinary academy in my aunt’s longtime home of Florence, Italy (to which I just recently had the pleasure of returning!). Little did I know that we would reunite virtually after discovering each other on the vegan blogosphere. Astounded by this chance re-encounter, I immediately invited Lindsay to contribute a guest post to my humble corner of the internet, and am thrilled to share her and her mouthwatering Kale-Cranberry Pilaf with you all. Make sure to follow Lindsay on her blog, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, YouTube, and Instagram.

Also be sure to check out my guest post over at Lindsay’s blog, which features concurrent recipes for Tofu “Egg” Salad Sandwiches with Avocado, and Buffalo-Maple Cauliflower.

It amazes me how life sometimes reconnects people with each other, even years after first meeting. When Alessandra and I first met three years ago, I remember thinking how strong she was. We were the only vegans in our vegetarian cooking class during a study abroad in beautiful Florence, Italy. I could barely call myself a vegan though, as I had just committed to veganism before heading abroad, and I found myself frequently giving in and gobbling all things egg, cheese, and milk. Alessandra meanwhile would give a firm “no” to tasting all the cheesy, eggy treats our class whipped up. It wasn’t until I came home from that trip that it clicked and I realized I could never ever eat animal products again. Alessandra really was an inspiration to me, and that is why I am so incredibly honored that she reached out and asked me to share a recipe with all her fabulous readers. I love what a brilliant blogger she has turned into, and I just think it is so neat how we were able to find each other through the blogging community years after first meeting on the other side of the world.

2

A lot has changed for me over the past three years. My passion for veganism, and sharing veganism with everyone I could, quickly grew after returning home from Italy. I went from being a “junk food vegetarian” to being a certified Vegan Lifestyle Coach and Educator through the Main Street Vegan Academy, and having a certificate in Plant-Based Nutrition through the T. Colin Campbell Foundation and Cornell. I was also diagnosed with Celiac disease. I started my blog two-and-a-half years ago after discovering a love for healthy cooking, as well as photography. I wanted to show people that you can eat and be healthy, and still enjoy cooking and eating, while helping animals and the planet along the way. You can find me on my website Vegan 101 Girl and on all social media sites as vegan101girl. These days, I do admit, my presence in the blogging world has dwindled. I work for PETA (People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals) in animal cruelty investigations, and that work has kind of consumed my life (in a good way!), but every free second I have, I’m sharing my love for all things vegan with the blogging world. I absolutely love whipping up vegan and gluten-free recipes, and I’m so excited that I get to share this one with you all today!

3

And now, for the good stuff! Years ago I came across a non-vegan, non-gluten-free pilaf with raisins in it and I thought, “Oh, what I great idea to have dried fruit in a pilaf, yum!” Over the years, my own pilaf recipe has morphed bit-by-bit into what it is today. I love serving this colorful dish during the winter holidays, and it makes for a great entrée or side dish. Feel free to swap out the cranberries for your favorite dried fruit, and the kale for your preferred dark leafy green, but trust me when I say that kale and cranberries are a phenomenal pairing and your taste buds will seriously love this surprisingly delightful combo. Both kale and cranberries are absolute powerhouse foods, too. Kale is high in fiber, Vitamin A, Vitamin C, Vitamin K, iron, calcium, magnesium, and is rich in antioxidants. Cranberries are also rich in antioxidants and phytochemicals and multiple vitamins and minerals, and are famous for their antibacterial and anti-inflammatory properties which help alleviate urinary tract infections as well as other types of infections.

4

5

Kale-Cranberry Pilaf

Serves 2.

Ingredients:

1 cup brown rice
1 3/4 cup no-chicken broth (or homemade veggie broth if you aren’t in a hurry)
1 tbsp olive oil (can omit and use water for cooking veggies if following an oil-free diet)
1/2 medium-sized yellow onion, diced
5 cups kale (any variety), stemmed and roughly chopped (about 3/4 lb)
3-4 cloves garlic, minced (depending on how much you like garlic!)
1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
1/2 cup dried cranberries
1/4 cup nuts, chopped (optional; I like cashews)

Cook rice with no-chicken broth in pot or rice cooker according to the rice package or rice cooker instructions.

Meanwhile, when the rice has almost finished cooking, heat the oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Saute the diced onion for 5 minutes, or until translucent. Add the kale and cook for another 5 minutes, or until wilted. Add the garlic and red pepper flakes, and cook for another minute. Add the cooked rice and cook for about 3 more minutes, or until the rice is warmed through.

Remove from the heat and stir in the cranberries and chopped nuts. Serve immediately.

6

Another huge thanks to Lindsay for sharing her wisdom and culinary prowess on Farmers Market Vegan!

Until next time, Ali.

One thought on “Kale-Cranberry Pilaf | Guest Post from Lindsay Greenfield of Vegan 101 Girl

Leave a Reply

