Vegan Chews & Progressive News {6-13-14}

If you haven’t yet, be sure to enter my latest giveaway to win a box of raw, vegan, sprouted, organic, gluten-free snacks from the fabulous folks over at Tastymakes!

Welcome to the second installment of Vegan Chews & Progressive News here on Farmers Market Vegan! (Check out the premier post in this weekly series here). This edition brings you delectable springtime recipes, a critical analysis of the hype surrounding the World Cup, the dangers of the escalating cost of higher education, and a book that’s sure to make all you introverts out there (myself SO included) feel all warm and fuzzy inside with validation. Let’s get to it, folks!

Favorite Newly Published Recipe

Buddha’s Pasta Salad
via Clean Wellness

4780895_orig

Photo via Clean Wellness.

Replete with verdant veggies and aromatic herbs, this creamily dressed pasta salad appeals to all of my springtime culinary sensibilities. Lately, I’ve found myself straight nibbling the stems of fresh mint and chives, but this recipe will certainly put those her s to better use. Though I cringe at the name of Alison’s blog every time I see it (check out this article to see why), I must admit that the woman certainly has some recipe-creating prowess.

Best Recipe I Made This Week

Caramelized Oyster Mushroom Scallops over Pasta and Cauliflower with Minted Pea Puree
via Olives for Dinner

14220916831_b3cf856bd6_z

Photo via Olives for Dinner.

I have almost no words for this dish…but then I wouldn’t be very helpful, now would I? This multi-layered, complex, yet cleanly flavored entree featured comforting pasta drowned in a silky puree of sweet peas and refreshing mint, scattered with meltingly tender roasted cauliflower and topped with the pièce de resistance: oh-so-heartily textured, caramelized oyster mushroom “scallops.” The multiple components may intimidate you, but all of them require minimal, simple preparation, and the dish that results from their combination will persuade you to prepare all of them every night…or maybe every meal. I certainly wouldn’t complain.

Must-Read News Article

Photo via Truthout.

Photo via Truthout.

Mainstream coverage of the 2014 World Cup in Brazil has largely overlooked a couple hugely problematic aspects of the event (and of many other mammoth-sized global events, such as the Beijing Olympics): in an attempt to hide rampant poverty and inequality from international eyes, government officials have begun “pacifying” favelas (the “slums” of Brazil), resulting in widespread police abuse. Additionally, the state has spent astronomical amounts on various World Cup expenses, while the millions of Brazilians who live in abject poverty benefit not at all. Important facts to remember among the current World Cup hype.

Favorite Podcast Episode or Video

Is College Worth it? New Doc ‘Ivory Tower’ Tackles Higher Ed’s Unsustainable Spending, Student Debt
via Democracy Now!

Untitled

Democracy Now! recently featured an exciting upcoming documentary that discusses the hugely important topic of the ever-increasing cost of higher education. The documentary sheds light on such frightening statistics as:
–The government will make $184 billion off of tuition and student loans this year.
–Since 1978, college tuition has increased by 1120%, more than any other good or service in the U.S.
–Colleges now spend lavishly in order to compete with other institutions, such that some dorms are now built at rates equivalent to construction of luxury hotels.
As a college student, I’m thrilled to see growing attention being paid to this pressing issue, one that threatens to make younger generations beholden to the government for their lifetimes.

Book Recommendation

Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World that Can’t Stop Talking
by Susan Cain

Photo via ThePowerofIntroverts.com

Photo via ThePowerofIntroverts.com

During the last few weeks of the spring semester, I saw a counselor at my college, who after speaking with me informed me that I suffered from social anxiety. Okay, great, my preference for not interacting with large groups of people and my tendency to worry about how I come off in social interactions is now a pathology, and I feel like there’s something terribly wrong with me. This book changed my feelings completely. Like a close friend, this book assured me that my introverted personality does not mark me as broken, but rather bestows upon me the difficult task of navigating a Western culture that privileges extroverts. Author Susan Cain invokes a wide variety of fascinating statistics and psychological studies to shed light upon the strenuous endeavor of living as an introvert in an extroverted society. A necessary read for all introverts and their loved ones.

Until next time, Ali.

Leave a Reply

