Creamy Apple (or Pear) Spice Green Smoothie

Every Thursday, Ferry House picks up a half-bushel of local apples and pears from the always-friendly folks at Wilklow Orchards from Vassar’s on-campus farmers market. Our 21 house members easily devour this generous box-full of autumnal fruit within five to six days, employing the crisp, jewel-toned apples and juicy, champagne-fleshed pears as on-the-go snacks or, in my case, in my ubiquitous morning green smoothies.

041

While frozen berries had played an integral role in my smoothies since the summer, lately I’ve found myself gravitating toward smoothies that incorporate the grounding fruits of the cooling weather, both because they produce a less chilled smoothie than do frozen berries (a quite positive aspect considering that I prefer not to shiver when eating my breakfast), and because they serve as optimal bases for warming spices like cinnamon, ginger, and nutmeg. Employing Ferry’s apples and pears in my smoothie rotation also greatly reduces the personal money I spend each week on specialty foods such as flax oil and kombucha, since frozen berries tend to cost a pretty penny.

044

The recipe below yields a gorgeously creamy, attractively hued smoothie with a flavor nicely balanced between sweet and spicy, mostly thanks to the bite of fresh ginger. Served in a glass or as a Green Smoothie-Granola Breakfast Bowl, this smoothie will assuredly prompt your tastebuds to sing the praises of the fall season. Ooh, a smoothie-themed musical? Hello, Broadway…

Creamy Apple (or Pear) Spice Green Smoothie—Can be Raw, Soy Free, and Nut Free; Oil Free, Low Sodium, Low Fat

Makes one 16-oz smoothie.

Ingredients:

1 large banana, frozen and sliced
1 medium-small apple or ripe pear, diced
1-inch knob of fresh ginger, peeled
1/2 tsp cinnamon
Pinch of nutmeg
1 scoop of vegan protein powder (optional; I love Ultimate Meal and Garden of Life)
1 large handful of kale
1 cup non-dairy milk (Edensoy for Ali, forever and always)

Place all ingredients in a blender in the order listed above. Blend until smooth, scraping down the sides as needed. To make this smoothie into my infamous Green Smoothie-Granola Breakfast Bowl, serve the smoothie in a bowl topped with 1/2 cup granola and a tablespoon of nut butter.

039

Recipe submitted to Wellness Weekend and Healthy Vegan Fridays.

Until next time, Ali.

6 thoughts on “Creamy Apple (or Pear) Spice Green Smoothie

  1. Kris says:

    Ooo, I love apples in smoothies! I often add a scoop of pumpkin or butternut squash puree as well, to make it even more autumnal 🙂

    Also, have you seen the local kombucha brewer at the farmers market recently? (He’s only been there for a few weeks, I think.) I had no idea there was a brewer in the Hudson Valley! Super excited to try his tumeric flavor, it should be very interesting 🙂

    Have a great day, girl!

  2. Deborah Smikle-Davis says:

    I am reading your recipe while sipping an equally delicious green smoothie made with hemp, chia and flax seeds, pineappple, banana, orange, kale and spinach. We are both smoothie lovers so your recipe caught my attention on Healthy Vegan Friday! I am also passionate about my local farmer’s market. Your green smoothie-granola bowl for breakfast is a great idea as well.

Leave a Reply

