Vegan MoFo #17: Easy as Rosemary Apple Pie

vegan mofo 2013

pie 3

I’ve gained a reputation on the Vassar campus as a sort of “expert vegan” thanks to the ol’ blog, my articles and cooking videos for the campus news paper, my co-presidency with the Vassar Animal Rights Coalition (VARC), and my residency in Ferry House. From this inherited role, I’ve fielded such questions as, “But what exactly is tofu? Can you elaborate upon the intersectionalities between veganism and Judaism? Will you show me how to use the stir-fry station in the Deece (Vassar’s dining hall)?” Not only do these inquiries come from housemates and close friends, but also from random classmates with whom I’ve never before spoken, over Vassar Gmail, and through Facebook. Recently, my VARC co-president and I have decided to expand this role of “expert vegan” to encompass VARC’s most devoted members as a whole with the launch of the Veggie Buddy System. A blurb about the program follows:

“VARC’s Veggie Buddy System pairs veg-curious folk and aspiring vegans/vegetarians with experienced vegans in an effort to ease the transition to a more compassionate, environmentally friendly lifestyle, and thereby render veganism/vegetarianism more accessible to a larger number of Vassar students. Providing an immersive and guided experience through the first month of your veg journey, the Veggie Buddy System ensures you a knowledgeable, enthusiastic, and friendly companion available 24/7 to answer any and all of your veg-related inquiries.”

pie 4

The first round of the System begins on Sunday, October 6, and I find myself nearly exploding with kale in excitement, especially considering that I’ve envisioned the birth of this program since my senior year of high school. For the next few weeks, however, I’ll have to satisfy my yearning to provide vegan mentorship by continuing to respond to my campus’ various veg-related requests. The latest of these I received from my fellow Miscellany News staff member, who asked if I could whip up some allergy-free goodies to celebrate the birthday of another staff member with gluten and soy intolerances. Pff, just gluten- and soy-free? Give me a challenge.

pie 2

I would have created a more elaborate dessert if not for the lack of coconut milk, agave nectar, peanut butter, and gluten-free oats in the Ferry pantry (we’ve reached the dregs of our monthly bulk order—thank goodness I pick up the next one tonight). Thus, I produced a simple yet flaky, naturally sweet, uniquely herby, and all-around scrumptious Rosemary Apple Pie in less than 30 minutes. How’s that for “easy as pie”?

Simple Rosemary Apple Pie

Makes one 9″ pie.

Ingredients:

5 medium-sized, sweet apples, cored and diced
4 sprigs of fresh rosemary
1 tsp lemon juice

2 cups all-purpose gluten-free flour (I like the one from Bob’s Red Mill)
1/2 tsp sea salt
1/4 cup coconut sugar
5 tbsp coconut oil, solid
5 tbsp cold water
1/2 tsp lemon juice

Preheat the oven to 350°F.

In a medium-sized saucepan, combine the apples, rosemary, and lemon juice. Set over medium-high heat, cover, and cook for 5-10 minutes, stirring periodically until the apples have broken down.

Meanwhile, whisk together the flour, salt, and coconut sugar in a medium-sized bowl. Add the coconut oil, water, and lemon juice, then cut the wet ingredients into the dry using either a pastry cutter, a fork, or your hands (I much prefer the latter) until a uniform dough forms. Press the dough evenly into the bottom and sides of a 9″ pie pan, then bake the crust for 10 minutes.

When the apples have broken down, pour them into the prebaked crust and bake for another 20 minutes or until the crust is golden-brown.

pie 1

Recipe submitted to Healthy Vegan Fridays and Wellness Weekend.

Until next time, Ali.

5 thoughts on “Vegan MoFo #17: Easy as Rosemary Apple Pie

Leave a Reply

