Vegan MoFo #8: A Refreshingly Simple Dinner of Lentils, Brown Rice, & Sauteed Squash

vegan mofo 2013

My dinner plate, generously sprinkled with nutritional yeast.

My dinner plate, generously sprinkled with nutritional yeast.

Returning after a weekend-long hiatus to my Vegan MoFo theme of the dinners cooked and enjoyed by my 21-person on-campus vegetarian co-op, I’d like to share with you, dear readers, last night’s meal created by my close friend Gabe and new Ferry member Andrew (a merging of old and new, if you will!). These fabulous Sunday dinner cooks utilized the flavorful summer squash featured in Ferry’s weekly farm share from the Poughkeepsie Farm Project (PFP), highlighting the veggie’s succulent yet delicate flavor.

5

Accompanied by simply prepared lentils and creamy short-grain brown rice, the summer squash provided an unpretentious meal, refreshing in its accentuation of the veggie’s true character. Seeking to include a leafy green in all of my meals, I tossed a handful of arugula from the farm share with a splash of olive oil and included it on my dinner plate, along with a healthy dusting of nutritional yeast (which, by the way, perfectly complements the flavor of summer squash…or of anything…like a shoe).

4

In other news, my co-president Katie and I led the Vassar Animal Rights Coalition (VARC) in our first general body meeting of the semester, welcoming a surprising number of enthusiastic first-year students with an astounding set of poster-making skills. Here’s to a productive, community-building, and informative semester of outreach!

2

Until next time, Ali.

Leave a Reply

