Vegan MoFo #4: Curried Tomato Lentils, Three-Grain Pilaf, & Crunchy Summer Salad

vegan mofo 2013

My fabulous housemates Tamsin (who shares my deep appreciation of organization and efficiency) and Tim (who spent his summer traversing the country in an eco-friendly educational van knows as the “Big Green Bus”) provided Ferry House Dinner last night. On the menu: a stew of tender brown lentils simmered with tomatoes and curry powder; a creamy pilaf of short-grain brown rice, millet, and amaranth; and a bright, summery salad of kale, sweet corn, apples, bell peppers, and fennel in a lime-cayenne dressing.

dinner 1

Tamsin always ensures that her Ferry dinners include a grain, a protein, a leafy green, and plenty of veggies, offering her housemates an optimally nutritious meal. Though Tim has spent much time in Ferry in the past, he has never before called the house a home, and his first foray into cooking Ferry Dinner proved wildly successful.

Big ol' pot of lentils!

Big ol’ pot of lentils!

In other news related to both Vassar and veganism, yesterday I had the immense pleasure of attending the first class of my Gender and Nature course, taught by a likeminded professor, Jill Schneiderman. I knew when I registered for the course that I would find it extremely enjoyable, though now I’m fairly certain that Professor Schneiderman tailored it specifically to suit me. In examining issues of gender, nature, and environmentalism, the course seeks to accomplish these three hugely intriguing goals:

1.) “To illuminate the connections between subjugated others such as animals, women, and people of color in environmental movements.”
2.) “To understand scientific and cultural histories that led to the gendering of the Earth as female.”
3.) To wrestle with the implications for all life on the planet for capitulation to the nature/culture binary.”

Three-grain pilaf.

Three-grain pilaf.

Um, yes please. The course description reminds me largely of the Marti Kheel ecofeminist conference that I attended last spring, entitled “FInding a Niche for All Animals.” That conference first opened my eyes to many of the issues I expect to discuss in my Gender and Nature course, and I cannot wait to formally grapple with them in an academic setting. The course syllabus such literary works as The Sexual Politics of Meat by Carol J. Adams, articles by renowned ecofeminist Greta Gaard and philosopher Lori Gruen, The Dreaded Comparison by Marjorie Spiegel, Sistah Vegan by A. Breeze Harper, and Animal Liberation by Peter Singer—essentially, we’ll read my entire personal library. I almost shook with excitement as Professor Schneiderman introduced the course today, and I will most certainly keep you, dear readers, updated on my studies as the semester progresses.

Summery salad.

Summery salad.

Until next time, Ali.

3 thoughts on “Vegan MoFo #4: Curried Tomato Lentils, Three-Grain Pilaf, & Crunchy Summer Salad

  1. Kris says:

    That class sounds fascinating! I have a friend who is also taking it, and she seems to love it as well 🙂 I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on the subject matter, especially on the topic of intersectionality.

    Oh my goodness, that lentil stew–I might just have to sneak into Ferry one of these nights and steal some leftovers. I kid, I kid, but it does look incredibly tasty! ❤

Leave a Reply

