The Meaning of “Farmers Market Vegan”: Guest Post on Food Politic

Today, dear readers, I’d like to direct you to the “journal of food news and culture” known as Food Politic. There, you’ll find a guest post of mine that recounts my journey from a farmers’ market enthusiast into a food-lover deeply concerned about the politics, ethics, and environmental impact of the food system, particularly in terms of animal agriculture. The piece also explains, as denoted by the title of this post, why I chose to name my blog “Farmers Market Vegan.” I would hugely appreciate it if you would visit my article on Food Politic and leave a friendly comment, seeing as I expect to receive mostly antagonistic responses from the site’s largely non-vegan audience. Thanks oodles in advance!

In other news, I’m thrilled to announce that, for the third year in a row, I plan to participate in the Vegan Month of Food (MoFo), which this year will take place in September (and thus starts tomorrow, oh man!). This year, I’ll focus my posts mainly on the food concocted and enjoyed by my 21-person vegetarian co-op at Vassar, known as Ferry House. Check out my past MoFo posts if you feel so inclined.

vegan mofo 2013

Until next time, Ali.

Leave a Reply

