Quickie Post: Lavender-Cardamom Nut Butter

This past Friday, to finish off the last of my stock of sprouted almonds and sunflower seeds, I opted to puree up another batch of homemade nut butter. However, I didn’t have enough sprouted nuts to facilitate blending in my regularly-sized foot processor, so I made up the difference with a bit of flaxseed meal. I had also, on a whim, picked up a bit of dried lavender buds during my most recent jaunt to the top-notch natural food store and vegan deli of Mother Earth’s Storehouse, and they caught my eye just as I prepared to create my nut butter concoction. Deciding to go all-out in my flavored nut butter-ing, I added the sweet spice of cardamom and a bit of vanilla extract to compliment the lavender. The thick nut butter that ensued imparted one of the most addictive aromas my nose has ever had the pleasure of smelling, and added an unbelievable dimension to my creamy banana-hemp oatmeal the next morning.

lavender nut butter (1)

Obviously, you can create this nut butter with any blend of nuts you prefer, sprouted or not. If you use non-sprouted nuts, though, I’d recommend toasting them first to tenderize them and lighten the labor of your food processor.

lavender nut butter (2)

Lavender-Cardamom Nut Butter—Raw, Oil Free, Soy Free, Low Sodium.

Makes about 1 cup.

1/2 cup almonds, sprouted or toasted
1/2 cup sunflower seeds, sprouted or toasted
1/2 cup flaxseed meal
1 tsp dried lavender buds
1 tsp cardamom
1 tsp vanilla extract

Combine the almonds, sunflower seeds, and flaxseed meal in the bowl of a food processor. Blend for up to 20 minutes, scraping down the sides as needed, until the nuts adopt a creamy, liquidinous texture (don’t fret, it will happen sooner or later!). Add the lavender, cardamom, and vanilla, and process until fully incorporated. Store in an airtight container for up to 3 weeks.

Recipe submitted to Waste Not Want Not Wednesdays, Allergy Free Wednesdays, Raw Food Thursdays, Foodtastic Fridays, Healthy Vegan Fridays, and Wellness Weekend.

lavender nut butter (3)

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have another essay to write refuting Michael Pollan’s assertion that supporting “humane meat” will combat industrial agriculture more effectively than adopting a vegan diet.

Until next time, Ali.

6 thoughts on “Quickie Post: Lavender-Cardamom Nut Butter

Leave a Reply

