Spirulina-Mango Waffles with Goji Berries

In my most recent What I Ate Wednesday post, I revealed my embarrassing failure of a first experience with a waffle iron, one that ended in all but a couple of crumbs sticking hopelessly to the cast-iron grates. Never one to throw in the proverbial towel after a single bout of culinary experimentation, however, I remained quite enamored with the notion of enjoying blissfully fluffy, perfectly checkerboarded waffles crafted from scratch. Since I plan on returning to a waffle-iron-less Ferry Haus tomorrow due to the end of Vassar’s spring break, this morning began a mere 24-hour countdown during which to transform my waffle-based dreams into reality with the help of the rather ancient waffle iron lurking in the kitchen cabinets of my parents’ subletted NYC apartment. Waffling, away!

mango waffles (10)

After adequately stocking my parents’ pantry and refrigerator with homemade almond milk, gluten-free flour, various superfoods, and coconut oil, I rendered myself well-equipped to craft successful waffles, much moreso than when I had relied upon the various questionable flour substitutions already in my parents’ kitchen (Important note to readers: a mixture of cornmeal, kasha ground in the food processor, almond pulp, and nutritional yeast does not equal flour). I decided to establish round two of my waffle-crafting adventures upon this recipe from Ashlae at Oh, Ladycakes, whose dependably tasty recipes I trust wholeheartedly; under her guidance, how could my waffles fail? Inspired by Ashlae’s note regarding the substitution of the sweet potato puree in her recipe with any other fruit/veggie puree, I turned to a bag of frozen mango to utilize as the base of a fruity, rather tropical variation of Ashlae’s original waffles.

mango waffles (4)

As you can clearly tell from my posting of this recipe, my second bout of waffle-making endeavors proved quite triumphant, yielding the fluffy, chewy, immensely satisfying breakfast treats about which I’ve dreamed since first spotting that old beaten-up waffle iron in the cabinet of my parents’ apartment. Adding to my morning meal delight, I drizzled the waffles with a caramel-like sauce of 1 tbsp tahini, 1 tbsp maple syrup, 2 tsp maca powder, and 2 tbsp water. You can certainly opt to do the same (and I would highly recommend it), or you can simply top your waffles with fresh fruit, maple syrup, and/or jam.

mango waffles (3)

Though I didn’t intend to include spirulina in the waffles when I began making them, the jar of plant-based milk that I had on hand contained an experimental homemade blend of sprouted sunflower seeds, dates, and spirulina. The inclusion of the algae did not hugely alter the tangy, bright flavor of the waffles, and added a couple micrograms more of complete protein, essential fatty acids, and vitamin B12 to the batter. However, you could certainly omit the spirulina if the waffles’ belated St. Patty’s Day greenness doesn’t jive with you.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to search for an inexpensive waffle iron to call my own—after these homemade waffles, I’m hooked.

mango waffles (9)

Spirulina-Mango Waffles with Goji Berries—Can be Nut Free, Soy Free, Low Fat, Low Sodium

Makes about 12 small waffles.

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups gluten free flour blend (I used Bob’s Red Mill, but you could certanly make your own)
1 tbsp flaxseed meal
3/4 tsp baking powder
1 tsp ground cardamom
3/4 cup mango puree
Scant 1 1/2 cups plant-based milk (I used almond)
2 tbsp coconut oil, melted
1 tbsp maple syrup
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2-1 tsp spirulina (optional)
1/4 cup goji berries

Preheat your waffle iron.

In a large mixing bowl, stir together the flour, flaxseed meal, baking powder, and cardamom until well combined. In a separate mixing bowl, whisk together the mango puree, milk, oil, maple syrup, and vanilla extract. Create a well in the center of the dry ingredients and pour the wet ingredients into it. Stir together until well combined. Stir in the goji berries.

When the waffle iron has heated, spray it with oil. Cook waffles according to the instructions specific to your waffle iron.

Serve immediately or freeze the waffles for up to one month. Reheat frozen waffles in a toaster.

Recipe submitted to Waste Not Want Not Wednesday, Recipe WednesdayAllergy-Free Wednesday, Foodtastic Friday, Healthy Vegan Friday, and Wellness Weekend.

Until next time, Ali.

11 thoughts on “Spirulina-Mango Waffles with Goji Berries

Leave a Reply

