Granola of the Week #4: Spiced Carrot Granola

After last week’s wildly successful, mind-bogglingly delicious creation of Sweet Corn-Thyme Granola, I harbored an urge to create another granola featuring some sort of vegetable. Enter carrots. Perhaps I drew some sort of subconscious inspiration from Brittany of Real Sustenance’s Carrot Cake Granola, or perhaps my oft-skyrocketing levels of beta carotene (since becoming vegan, my skin has adopted a permanent orange glow) had dropped to merely a mild excess, but the carrots in my mini-fridge positively begged me to puree them up and coat some grains and nuts with them. Not the first instance I’ve felt compelled to incorporate the crunchy orange veggies into granola, I’ve also featured a recipe for Spiced Carrot-Pumpkin 3-Grain-ola on the blog, though I created that recipe before developing my preferred method of granola-making.

carrot granola (3)

I included an apple in the puree for a bit of added sweetness and implemented prunes instead of the dates that I usually include in my granolas, for my date stock has dwindled to…well, none, and sadly no stores in immediate proximity to Vassar stock dates of the organic variety. Nonetheless, dried fruit of any sort will adequately replace the dates in my template recipe for fresh fruit-sweetened granola—I do wish, however, that I had had dried apricots instead of prunes on hand, for I have an inkling that their flavor would have complimented that of the carrots a bit more aptly. No matter! I remain satisfied with the quality of this week’s batch of granola.

carrot granola (8)

Ingredients: 3 large carrots, 1 large jonagold apple, 5 juicy prunes, 1 tbsp melted coconut oil, 1 tbsp vanilla extract, 1 tbsp cinnamon, 2 tsp powdered ginger, 2 cups gluten-free rolled oats, 1 cup raw buckwheat groats, 3/4 cup flaxseed meal, 1/2 cup chopped walnuts, 1/2 cup chopped almonds.

Recipe submitted to Wellness Weekend.

carrot granola (1)

See my recipe for fresh fruit-sweetened granola for more specific granola-making directions.

Until next time, Ali.

4 thoughts on “Granola of the Week #4: Spiced Carrot Granola

Leave a Reply

