Granola of the Week #3: Sweet Corn-Thyme Granola

Once again, I’d like to ask you, my lovely readers, to sign the two online petitions the Vassar Animal Rights Coalition currently has circulating against the Vassar Farm and Ecological Preserve’s deer cull this winter break. Thank you for your support. Petition 1 and Petition 2.

My dormmates have grown fairly accustomed to the unorthodox flavor combinations that result from my weekly bouts of granola-crafting (berry-lemongrass granola, anyone?). However, even they raised their eyebrows in a “this-has-gone-too-far” expression when I revealed that this particular batch of granola involved sweet corn and thyme. Bravely sampling a cluster of my most unconventional granola yet, my fellow Vassarians emitted a resounding surprised “Yum!”, one enthusiastically claiming that “it tastes like flavor-blasted Goldfish!” While I certainly cannot vouch for that last claim, I’ll accept it as a compliment and hoarde the rest of this uniquely delicious granola for myself.

sweet corn granola (8)

In my humble opinion, the flavor of this granola exactly recalls biting into a juicy ear of corn smothered in coconut butter on a warm summer evening. Though not saccharine by any means, the granola teeters further toward the realm of sweetness rather than that of savory, due to a slight increase in the amount of dates I normally use, a splash of vanilla extract, and the inclusion of shredded coconut. The thyme imparts an added layer of flavor depth as a pungent compliment to the delicate sweet corn.

sweet corn granola (3)

The corn I used comes from a farm back in good ol’ Wisconsin (though I can’t recall the name), which I cut off the cob and froze during the summer so as to enjoy succulent sweet corn all year long. Little did I realize that I would later enjoy the corn as a component of my breakfast!

sweet corn granola (1)

Ingredients: 15 oz frozen and defrosted sweet corn kernels, 5 large medjool dates, 1 tbsp melted coconut oil, 1 tbsp vanilla extract, 1 tbsp dried thyme, 2 cups gluten-free rolled oats, 1 cup raw buckwheat groats, 1/2 cup flaxseed meal, 1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut, 1/2 cup chopped walnuts, 1/2 cup pumpkin seeds.

Recipe submitted to Healthy Vegan Fridays, Gluten Free Fridays, Allergy-Free Wednesdays, and Wellness Weekend.

See my recipe for fresh fruit-sweetened granola for more specific granola-making directions.

Until next time, Ali.

4 thoughts on “Granola of the Week #3: Sweet Corn-Thyme Granola

  1. Cindy (Vegetarian Mamma) says:

    oh…what a combo! You ALWAYS amaze me!! Thanks for linking up at our Gluten Free Fridays party! I have tweeted and pinned your entry to our Gluten Free Fridays board on Pinterest! 🙂
    I hope to see you again this week!

    This week is sponsored by Sugar and Spice Market! They are giving away a package of their gluten free sugar cookie mix and a package of their gluten free pancake/waffle mix! It is just in time for the holidays!

    Link up starts tomorrow (thursday) at 7:05pm eastern time! Cindy from vegetarianmamma.com

Leave a Reply

