Updates

Contrary to what the title of this post may lead you to think, no, I don’t have a recipe for the Ultimate Party Dates (UP-Dates). Get it? Man, I should really start working on my stand-up routine.

Instead, I’d like to point your toward three recent online articles, two of which I penned for the good ol’ Miscellany News, the Vassar newspaper at which I now serve as Assistant Online Editor (feel free to follow my enthusiastic Vassar-centric Tweets and Facebook posts!).

The first article ran in the October 31 issue of the Misc and featured advice on how to boost your immune system through eating wholesome, plant-based, vitamin-C-and-E-laden foods. While people should adhere to this sort of diet all the time for optimum health, I though the Vassar student body would more willingly accept my advice if I presented it as an effective method of warding off the cold and flu currently running rampant through the campus. As an added incentive for healthy eating, I included one of my favorite recipes for a Peach, Raspberry, and Ginger Green Smoothie—who can resist a thick, creamy, fruity treat?

Just published yesterday in light of Obama’s monumentously exciting victory, my article for the special election edition of the Misc offered a summary of why political candidates should consider animal rights as a legitimate issue, followed by a guide to creating vegan pizza, for what self-respecting campaign or election results party doesn’t fuel itself with doughy, saucy, cheesy (animal-friendly, please!) pies? The recipe featured, Roasted Ratatouille Pizza with Chickpea Cheese Sauce, comes from the lovely Kristy at Keepin’ it Kind.

Photo courtesy of Kristy Turner.

Finally, if you remember my confused post about the upcoming killing of deer on the Vassar Farm and Ecological Preserve, justified with the ambiguous yet convincing language of “biological diversity” and “ecological balance,” you’ll recall that I emailed Jasmin Singer of Our Hen House to ask her opinion of the complex issue. While she still has not responded (busy woman, indeed!), another one of my vegan activist inspirationsJames McWilliams, graciously replied to my inquiry on the very same morning that I contacted him. You can find the piece he published on his blog here.

Photo courtesy of Vassar College.

Two final notes:

  1. While I did not have all the information pertaining to the heated topic of deer culling, I, along with my fellow members of the Vassar Animal Rights Coalition (VARC), have since researched extensively humane alternatives to, the sustainability of, and what other groups/colleges have done about deer culling. We’ve also joined forces with a couple animal rights activists in the Poughkeepsie community who protested the last cull two years ago, as well as attended a Vassar-sponsored information session, and have since deemed our activist group as Science Over Slaughter. I certainly intend to detail our findings and the actions we plan to take in a future post.
  2. This Friday and Saturday, VARC will attend the ecofeminist conference at Wesleyan University entitled “Finding a Niche for All Animals.” The fact that I will have the privilege to see and potentially meet prominent vegan activists such as Lori Gruen, Carol Adams, and the Our Hen House gals has me in quite the tizzy. Stay tuned for a post in the near future about the conference!

Until next time, Ali.

Leave a Reply

