Vegan MoFo #14: Quickie Post! Spiced Double Pumpkin Granola with Dried Figs

You can find my four previous Quickie Posts of Vegan MoFo here, here, here, and here.

I realize that this post marks the second regaling of my granola-making ventures in the past nine days, but each batch of clustery crunchy scrumptiousness I whip up, no matter how frequent, excites me just as much as my first attempt long ago at creating my own healthy cereal. So you’ll have to bear with me.

Embracing autumn’s harvest, I opted to employ pumpkin, such as in my recipe for Pumpkin Power Granola during Vegan MoFo 2011, as the coating for my dry granola ingredients instead of my standard puree of fresh fruit. The granola garners its “spiced” title from my generous sprinkling of both cinnamon and ginger, while its “double pumpkin-ness” stems from both the pumpkin puree and the pumpkin seeds I included. Since I utilized canned pumpkin (I highly recommend the organic Farmer’s Market brand since its cans contain no BPA), and thus did not require the food processor to form an homogenous granola coating out of large pieces of fruit like usual, I substitued date syrup for whole dates to allow for easier incorporation. On a final note, I interspersed the dried calmyrna figs into the granola about 20 minutes before it had finished baking, rendering the figs meltingly tender and chewy without overcooking them.

Ingredients: 1 15-oz can of pureed pumpkin, 3 tbsp date syrup, 1 tbsp coconut oil, 1 tbsp cinnamon, 1 tbsp ginger, 2 1/2 cups GF rolled oats, 1 1/4 cups raw buckwheat groats, 1 cup flaxseed meal, 1/2 cup pumpkin seeds, 1/4 cup chopped almonds, 1/4 cup chopped walnuts, 8 diced dried calmyrna figs.

Comment Provoking Questions: Do you share my excitement in making granola? What are your favorite additions to granola? How often do you make it?

Happy Vegan MoFo!

Until next time, Ali.

4 thoughts on “Vegan MoFo #14: Quickie Post! Spiced Double Pumpkin Granola with Dried Figs

  1. Hannah says:

    My favourite, favourite granola recipe that I’ve ever made was my spice fig, molasses, and pepita granola. So spicy, smoky, not-sweet… so I reckon I’d love this!

Leave a Reply

