Chickpea-Avocado-Dulse Mash

You know that recipe? The one that doesn’t even merit the title of a “recipe” due to its laughable simplicity? The one that you could whip up in seconds flat with both hands, feet, and elbows tied behind your back? The one that provides a quick dose of deep gustatory satisfaction every time you nosh on it? Well, my friends, this is my that recipe.

Frankly, I don’t really know when I first concieved of this delectable combination of unpretentious ingredients, though I remain fairly confident about how this dish (if I can even call it that) was born: the culinary deities shot a lightning bolt of inspiration at my unsuspecting self that ultimately caused my mixing of three of my all-time favorite foods—the chickpea, the king of all legumes; avocado, nature’s perfect solution to creamy unctuousness; and dulse, the flaky reincarnation of all the sea’s splendor.

I adore this creamy, beany, seaweed-y mash served on a brown rice cake, scooped on top of a salad, or wrapped inside a lettuce/kale/collard leaf, as pictured above.

Then again, I have often found myself simply spooning it into my mouth straight out of the bowl, which is a completely respectable option, especially considering the powerful health benefits of the three ingredients! Chickpeas contain hefty amounts of fiber to aid in digestion, as well as ample stores of protein, antioxidants, and valuable minerals; avocados offer a ridiculous amount of anti-inflammatory carotenoids and heart-healthy mono/polyunsaturated fats; dulse soaks up the plethora of minerals from the sea, contains more vitamin C than oranges, and serves as one of the richest plant sources of calcium.

So mix up, mash up, and devour this astoundingly easy, utterly scrumptious, and ridiculously healthy…”recipe.”

Chickpea-Avocado-Dulse Mash (Soy Free, Oil Free, Nut Free)

Serves 1-2.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup cooked chickpeas
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1 tbsp dulse flakes

In a small bowl, mash the chickpeas with the back of a fork. Scoop in the avocado flesh and continue mashing with the fork until both the chickpeas and the avocado are adequately mushy. Add the dulse flakes and stir well to combine, creating a creamy mixture.

Recipe submitted to Wellness Weekend.

Comment Provoking Questions: What is your “that recipe”?

Until next time, Ali.

8 thoughts on “Chickpea-Avocado-Dulse Mash

  1. aspiringsteph says:

    Avocados are always good mashed in some sort of salty/savory dish 😉 I used to eat it a lot with tuna or cream cheese, but now I know a better option!!! (p.s. my blog is open!)

    • Ali Seiter says:

      Come to think of it, this recipe does actually taste reminiscent of a salty-sea fish salad, though is much more compassionate since it doesn’t harm any aquatic friends!

      And yay, I’m so glad to hear that! I’ll be sure to check out your blog right away.

  2. Hannah says:

    Of late, I’ve been stirring a can of rinsed brown lentils together with nooch, dulse, and chilli flakes, and eating it in one sitting with a spoon. Oh how I look forward to a time when work calms down and I have time to cook properly again!

    Until then… time for me to buy some avocado 😉

Leave a Reply

