Christmas Wishlist

Even though the demonic white fluff that threatens to descend from the sky has not yet cursed Madison, as December 25th approaches, each day the holiday spirit bubbles up a bit more in my heart. Unfortunately, the looming three-day journey to Alabama (aka, a desolate wasteland for veganism) to visit my paternal relatives guarantees to dash all hopes of a white Christmas (the only day of the year on which I’ve deemed it acceptable to snow) and threatens to decimate the holiday cheer I so garner from spending winter break at home with my mother while baking vegan giftbaskets and experimenting with more culinarily involved recipes. Our trip down south, however, has not deterred me from creating my wishlist of Christmas gifts perfectly suited for any health-conscious vegan.

My cookbook requests include all those listed from my Birthday Wishlist, except for The Complete Italian Vegetarian Cookbook, The Mediterranean Vegan Kitchen, and Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone, all of which I recieved on my September 17th birthday and have since scoured for endless amusement. I’ve also excluded The Conscious Cook from my yuletide wishlist after borrowing it from a friend and discovering some less-than-pleasing recipes. (Can you say copious amounts of Veganaise and processed meat substitutes? No thanks.)

Further contributing to my list of fawned-over cookbooks, I’ve added Christy Morgan’s Blissful Bites (after drooling over her online recipe collection), Jessica Porter’s The Hip Chick’s Guide to Macrobiotics (after Teniesha’s numerous endorsements of the book), Colleen Patrick-Goudreau’s The 30-Day Vegan Challenge (per Gena’s suggestion), Michael Pollan’s Food Rules: An Eater’s Manual and The Omnivore’s Dilemma (after falling head-over-heels in love with In Defense of Food), and finally Brendan Brazier’s Thrive Foods (after sampling his Vega Smoothie Infusion powder and reading Pure2Raw’s rave review of the book).

Rounding out the non-reading material portion of my wishlist, I’ve requested a Kefir Starter Kit to transform ordinary drinks such as coconut water or soy milk into beverages plentiful in probiotics, Sea Clear Miso with fermented kelp and chlorella, Green Powder from Lydia’s Organics chock full of “powerful green foods and herbs” and perfect for smoothies, Kelp Noodles for raw slurpable dishes and constantly praised in the raw food community, and Irish Moss (a type of seaweed) for thickening raw desserts.

Finally, I would adore a new camera to replace my dinky Casio point-and-shoot, preferably some sort of Canon Rebel, as well as a gift card to Urban Outfitters, a relaxing massage at Aveda (I sigh in contentment simply thinking about the notion), and a gorgeous meal at my favorite upscale restaurant L’Etoile.

Though my extensive wishlist may appear…shall we say a bit greedy? All I truly wish for during the holidays is a college acceptance letter, my family’s economic and physical health, and the continued growth of a supportive vegan community full of activists determined to ameliorate the world’s eating habits, one animal-product-free Christmas cookie at a time.

Comment Provoking Questions: What are you asking for during the holidays? Do you make your own gifts or buy them? What is your favorite holiday cookie recipe? Has it been passed down in your family?

Until next time, Ali.

3 thoughts on “Christmas Wishlist

  1. Bea Rue says:

    What a perfect Christmas list! I gave up having one when I realized that my carnivorous family would never quite understand me. I still get made fun of for not eating meat- really?! I absolutely love raw kelp noodles, and usually make a thai peanut sauce complete with peanuts, lime, coconut milk & cilantro to coat them in. They’re great with a few strands of spiralized carrots and daikon radish too. Yum! Now I’ve got to try that Sea Clear miso. Thanks for sharing!

    • Ali Seiter says:

      Bea, I’m dreading the same thing with my Southern relatives this year. It’s the first time I’ve seen them since becoming a vegan and I’m not sure what to expect…although some of them do follow my blog, so that’s heartening!

      Ooh, your Thai kelp noodles sound absolutely scrumptious. I’ll for sure experiment with a recipe.

Leave a Reply

