Vegan MoFo 16: Three Culinary Epiphanies to Spice Up Your Kitchen

epiph·a·ny: noun \i-ˈpi-fə-nē\

  • An appearance or manifestation especially of a divine being.
  • A usually sudden manifestation or perception of the essential nature or meaning of something.
  • An illuminating discovery, realization, or disclosure.

Yes. I have seen the light. Three dazzling beams shining through my kitchen window straight into my culinary third eye. They revealed a trio of divine beings, all essential to the meaning of gastronomic happiness, and, full disclosure, these ridiculously simple discoveries will astound your taste buds.

Epiphany 1:

  

Upon returning home from school one day, I peeked inside my refrigerator for a quick bite to eat before heading off to my yoga class. “Mmm, roasted sweet potato. But it needs something more…a spread of sorts.” I had no batch of hummus on hand, no creamy cashew dip, nothing. Except…a jar of tahini. And thus, a perfect pairing was born. The succulent, caramelized sweet potato melds perfectly with the stick-to-the-back-of-your-teeth tahini for a decadent mouthfeel and energy-boosting snack.

Epiphany 2:

  

You know the overwhelming sensation to throw every vegetable at the Whole Foods salad bar into your take-home cardboard box? I certainly did the other day when I heaped a generous spoonful of finely chopped cilantro into my salad container on a whim. What a happy accident, though, when I discovered cilantro’s pop and twang brightening up every few bites of my otherwise ordinary salad. Since that fateful day, I’ve experimented with chopping fresh parsley, basil, marjoram, and thyme into my meal-sized bowls of leafy greens for their distinct and downright amusing flavors.

Epiphany 3:

  

After pureeing up countless variations of green smoothies every morning for almost three months now, I yearned for something new, something crazy to add to my standard mix of kale, frozen fruit, “power” seeds (chia, flax, and hemp), and soy milk. Thus, I turned to my spice cabinet and plucked out ground cardamom, a pungent ingredient in Indian desserts and chai tea. A mere 1/4 teaspoon kicks up a smoothie’s flavor like you wouldn’t believe, transforming even the simplest blend of fruit into a dazzling treat.

Comment Provoking Questions: Have you had any culinary epiphanies of your own lately? What’s your favorite after school/pre-yoga snack? Anything special you always add to your salads? How about your smoothies?

Until next time, Ali.

Leave a Reply

