Vegan MoFo 4: Green Smoothie Round-Up

Every morning, without fail, I arise in the darkness of the wee 5:00 hour craving the same breakfast: a green smoothie. However, before I can claim my delicious and powerfully nutritious pureed trophy, I complete my workout regimen of ab/leg toning and 25 minutes on the elliptical machine. Once mealtime rolls around, I sit down with the newspaper crossword, my kitty cat purring by my side, and a big bowl of green smoothie goodness to dive into.

The great aspect of green smoothies, besides their ridiculous healthiness and awesome taste, is that they offer endless variation. Honestly, I can’t possibly fathom how many different combinations of fruit, kale, seeds, nuts, and vegan protein powder I’ve concocted within the past few months. I do, though, remember a few of my most successful smoothie endeavors.

Avocado-Banana Smoothie/Pudding

More of a pudding thanks to its thick texture, the avocado adds a smooth creaminess and harmonizes well with the banana’s flavor.

Berry-Kale Smoothie with Vega Protein Powder

My first experiment with the Vega product line, this smoothie combines oodles of antioxidant-rich berries with a “superfood” boost of green powder.

Carob Smoothie with Fig and Cantaloupe

This mid-summer smoothie combines the reliably complementary flavors of figs and chocolate (or carob, rather), with an added kick of juicy melon. I’d recommend decreasing the amount of non-dairy milk to 1/2 cup.

Pumpkin-Kale Smoothie

Perfect for a transition from summer to fall, this smoothie abounds with the succulent balance of savory and sweet that make pumpkins oh so delectable. A dash of cinnamon and ginger recall the familiar flavors of pumpkin pie.

Clearly exemplified by my photos, no smoothie is complete without granola and fresh fruit! (Raspberries, in particular.)

So get out of your breakfast rut of soy milk and cereal to blend up a bowl of greeny goodness, guaranteed to energize and brighten your entire day.

Until next time, Ali.

4 thoughts on “Vegan MoFo 4: Green Smoothie Round-Up

  1. Gina says:

    I just saw the Dandelion picture there at the bottom and thought I had to say something. I love that place! Going there tomorrow for lunch!

Leave a Reply

