Juicing Without a Juicer

In an attempt to consume the ginormous pile of fruit from Saturday’s farmers market, I pureed it into a green smoothie (my new breakfast of choice) yesterday morning and paired it with my two breakfast breads, some buckwheat zucchini muffins, and a glass of soymilk today. Mmm. Who needs processed sugar when you have summer’s sweet bounty of nature’s candy?

Breakfast Checklist: Protein–soymilk, hemp seeds in almond bread. Whole Grain–oat flour, buckwheat flour, quinoa flakes all in breads. Fruit–cantaloupe, raspberries, perfectly ripe peaches, bananas, and dates (last two in the breads). Added Veggie Bonus!–zucchini.

Local Ingredients: Cantaloupe from Harmony Valley Farm, raspberries from Sutter’s Ridge Farm, peaches from Door County Fruit Market, zucchini from Dana’s garden.

However, after featuring kale in all three of my daily meals for the past few weeks thanks to the regular addition of green smoothies for breakfast, my chlorophyll-less morning meal propogated a sense of less…vibrancy? vegan legitimacy? fullness of leafy greens? than I’ve recently come to prefer. Thus, I deemed today ideal for a test-run of juicing without a juicer to easily add another serving of kale to my quota.

My last post related to juicing showcased how to make fresh juice pulp for raw crackers. Clearly, the common sense mechanism in my brain must have shut off that day seeing as I squeezed all the juice from that pulp down the drain of my kitchen sink, completely disregarding the fact that vegans and health food nuts alike prize the magenta liquid (colored as such from beets) for a refreshing and nutrient-rich beverage (for a glimpse into the wonderful world of juicing and all its benefits, check out Sayward’s post from her super helpful blog). In any case, the processes of producing vegetable/fruit juice without a juicer and amassing juice pulp are exactly the same seeing as you can’t create one without the other.

An incredibly simple method of juicing without a juicer (inspired by another post of Sayward’s) follows:

Fresh Juice in the Food Processor (Raw, Gluten Free, Soy Free, Nut Free, Oil Free)

Makes 1 cup.

Ingredients:

  • Mixed vegetables, rough chopped to fit in the processor bowl (use whatever your little heart desires. I like a combination with oodles of greens, a couple carrots, and a fruit of some sort. Don’t peel any of it and don’t hesitate to use the kale stems, carrot tops, or various otherwise compost-fated vegetable scraps.)
  • Some sort of flavoring to further enhance the juice such as a lemon or a knob of fresh ginger (optional).
  • 1 cup water
  • You’ll also need a nut milk bag, cheesecloth, or fine mesh strainer set over a non-metal bowl to catch all your juice.

Place all veggies and water in your food processor (I used three large leaves of kale, 1/2 cucumber, 3 medium-sized carrots, 1/2 honeycrisp apple, and 1/2 whole lemon).

Pulse until absolutely decimated into tiny tiny bits then pour into your strainer/cheesecloth/nut milk bag set over a bowl (preferably not metal because the acids might react strangely. Not good for juice!). If using a cheesecloth or bag, squeeze all the juice out from the pulp. If using a strainer, press firmly with the back of a spoon or the bottom of a bowl onto the pulp until all the juice runs out.

Pour the juice into a glass and enjoy its plethora of green vitality! For more great juice recipes, visit Health and Light and Green Juice Recipes Now.

But don’t you dare throw out that valuable juice pulp! Transform it into raw crackers; freeze it for later additions to soups, smoothies, or baked goods; or mash it up with an avocado for a delicious and ridiculously healthy pate, (as per Gena’s recipe on Choosing Raw) like I did for today’s lunch.

The raw foodist in my belly cheered at my almost completely raw lunch of avocado-juice pulp pate, sauerkraut, and an Ezekiel tortilla. (If I hadn’t crisped up the tortilla in my toaster oven to use as chips for the pate, I would have eaten a 100% raw meal. Go uncooked food!)

Local Ingredients: Kale from Driftless Organics, cucumber from Canopy Gardens, carrots from Harmony Valley Farm, honeycrisp apple from Ten Eyck Orchard, sauerkraut from Angelica’s Garden.

Comment Provoking Questions: Do you own a juicer? If so, what kind? Do you juice often? What is your favorite combination of fruits and veggies for juice?

Until next time, Ali.

3 thoughts on “Juicing Without a Juicer

  1. valeriepassonno says:

    Thank you soooo much! Perfect timing on this post. I don’t have a juicer and have wanted to know if this was possible. AND I JUST got a dehydrator and have wanted to make juice pulp crackers.
    I will try all this and get back to you. Great post 🙂

  2. Dan R says:

    I have done a little juicing with a blender recently. To strain I used a coffee filter lining a metal mesh strainer like the one you pictured. I do not have a dehydrator and I don’t really want to eat the pulp, though I feel a little guilty about this.

    Thanks for the information!

Leave a Reply

