How to Make a Green Smoothie

The other day I realized a giant abyss in the middle of my blog and chastised myself: “Who on Earth do I think I am, galavanting all over the online food world? I’ve called myself a vegan blogger for almost a month now and I haven’t even posted a green smoothie recipe? For shame!”

Thanks to the popular vegan mentality of cramming leafy greens into every nook and cranny of the diet, the practice of blending kale, collards, and other vitamin K, A, and C-laden superfoods into fruit smoothies has exploded onto the online health food scene. Green smoothie diets, green smoothie challenges, green smoothie detoxes, green smoothie revolutions, for goodness sake! Don’t get me wrong, I jumped on the salad-in-a-blender bandwagon straightaway after adopting veganism, though in all honesty, I kind of sort of hated them at first. They just tasted so redolent with, well, GREENNESS (all you green juice drinkers out there know exactly what I mean). I forced the ridiculously healthy beverages down my throat for breakfast, chanting the mantra of “remember how good they are for you. Remember how good they are for you!” After numerous recipe variations and experimentation with different varieties of greens, fruits, and seeds, my taste buds finally adjusted to the super smoothies and now I adore them exactly like a good little vegan should.

As I aforementioned, thousands of health foodies and vegans alike have dreamt up countless combinations of fruit, greens, seeds, and non-dairy milks that there exists no single definitive green smoothie recipe. Thus, I’d like to introduce you to an easily adaptable green smoothie formula.

How to Make a Green Smoothie

Serves 1.

Base (all your necessary ingredients):

  • 1 large frozen banana, sliced
  • About 1 cup greens, stemmed and chopped (any kale variety, collards, romaine, spinach.)
  • 1/2-3/4 cup frozen or fresh fruit (strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, mangoes, pineapple, apples, pears, cherries,etc.)
  • 1 cup non-dairy milk (soy milk, almond milk, hemp milk, coconut milk, etc.)

Optional Add-Ins:

  • 1-2 tbsp “power” seeds (chia, hemp, flax.)
  • 1-2 tbsp nuts or nut butters (almonds, walnuts, cashews, pumpkin seeds, tahini, etc.)
  • 3-4 pieces dried fruit (dates, apricots, raisins, figs, etc.)
  • 1 tbsp cocoa or carob powder
  • 1 scoop vegan protein powder
  • 1-2 tbsp other “superfood” powders (wheatgrass, spirulina, chlorella, lucuma, maca, mesquite, yacon, etc.)
  • 1 tsp spice (cinnamon, ginger, cardamom, etc.)

Blend all ingredients together for about two minutes until creamy and delicious! Try not to go crazy with the add-ins—an overload of ultrahealthy foods does not a good smoothie make. If you’re new to leafy smoothies and have a hard time accepting their greeny flavor profile, I’d recommend using a liberal amount of dates to achieve a pleasant sweetness and cozy up to the beverages. I also always serve my smoothies for breakfast with granola sprinkled on top to add a surprising crunch in the creamy green sea.

On this particular morning, my green smoothie included the mandatory banana, strawberries, lacinato kale, soy milk, 1 tbsp chia seeds, and 1 tbsp hemp seeds.

Meal Checklist: Protein–soy milk, hemp seeds, chia seeds. Whole GrainEzekiel granola. Fruit–banana, strawberries. Added leafy green bonus!–kale.

Local Ingredients: Kale from Harmony Valley Farm, strawberries from the Hilldale Farmers Market.

Though my unskilled photography may remind you of a swamp, I promise you that the fruit sufficiently masks the taste of raw greens to create a yummy, nutritionally dense beverage for any time of day.

Here’s a list of my favorite green smoothie combinations:

Avocado-Banana Smoothie/Pudding

Berry-Kale Smoothie with Vega Protein Powder

Carob Smoothie with Fig and Cantaloupe

Pumpkin-Kale Smoothie

2 thoughts on “How to Make a Green Smoothie

Leave a Reply

