Herby Green Beans and Tomatoes

Last night, almost all of the ingredients I used to prepare my dinner came from the farmers market. Perfectly ripe, succulently flavored, and brilliantly hued, Madison’s Summer produce never ceases to amaze me, so naturally these exclusively local dinners are some of my favorites. An incredibly happy Ali feasted on plump sweet corn slathered with nutritional yeast and this juicy, Provençal-inspired recipe for green beans and tomatoes from Dynise Balcavange’s cookbook The Urban Vegan.

Herby Green Beans and Tomatoes (Gluten Free, Soy Free, Nut Free)

Serves 2.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb green beans (I used Italian broad beans, but you can certainly use any type of green beans. I suspect the tiny tender haricots verts would taste quite nice.)
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, chopped (about 1/2 cup)
  • 1 large clove garlic, minced
  • 1 large tomato, chopped
  • 1 tbsp fresh basil, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp fresh thyme, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp agave nectar
  • Generous sprinkling of pepper

Steam green beans for about 5 minutes.

Heat oil in large saucepan and saute onion and garlic over medium-low heat until soft, about 5 minutes. Add chopped tomatoes, herbs, agave, and pepper. Cook for about 5 more minutes. Add the beans, cover, and cook on low until the tomatoes release their nummy juices–about 15 minutes.

Don’t forget to remove the bay leaf before serving over a bed of quinoa (or any grain of your choice), to soak up all the ridiculously flavorful tomatoey-herb sauce. Adapted from The Urban Vegan.

Meal Checklist: Protein–broad beans, nutritional yeast, and quinoa (normally, I would not count my whole grain as my protein, but since quinoa has such a high protein content and I coupled it with the moderately protein-ed broad beans, I’m considering quinoa as a dinner protein. So there.) Whole Grain–quinoa. Vegetable–corn, beans, tomatoes, onions. Leafy Greens–none. But when a green vegetable (in this case, beans) forms the main dish in my meal, I tend to forgive the lack of leafy greens.

Local Ingredients: Broad beans and garlic from JenEhr Family Farm, tomatoes from Happy Valley Farm, onions from Stenrud Greenhouse, corn from the Hilldale Farmer’s Market, and basil and thyme from my garden.

Leave a Reply

